Original Rootsweb Co. Tyrone Community Site
Castlederg Farming Society Ploughing Match, March 1855

Co. Tyrone Headstone Project
Click banner to submit/search the Project!

Find your Family Today - Click Here to get custom produced family history reports - Family History, Ancestral information and more...
Castlederg Farming Society Ploughing Match, March 1855
Extracted from the Tyrone Constitution March 9 1855

Transcribed, Compiled and Submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia



The annual Ploughing-match of the above Society was held on Monday last, the 5th instant, in a field belonging to MR. M. HAMILTON of Dartins. It had been found necessary to postpone the ploughing match for a fortnight in consequence of the late intense frost, and this circumstance, together with the fact that the frost had not altogether disappeared on that morning, prevented the attendance of many who had entered their names for competition. However, at 12 o ‘clock, 12 well appointed ploughs started at a given signal, and performed their allotted tasks in a very creditable style. Indeed it was universally admitted that the ploughing was much superior to that of any former occasion, a fact which clearly proves the utility of such societies.


The following list is the adjudication of prizes: -

1st prize: MR. WILLIAM DEARY, of Golan, plough held by himself, 1.10s;

2nd prize: MR. MATTHEW HAMILTON, of Dartins, plough held by his son, 1.2s. 6d;

3rd prize: MR. DAVID McINTIRE, of Golin, plough held by his son, 17s 6d. ;

4th prize: MR. HARRY HAMILTON, of Dartins, plough held by his son, 15s. ;

5th prize: MR. JAMES TWEEDIE, of Speerholm, plough held by himself, 12s. 6d..


The Judges were – MR. JOHN GRAHAM, of Kilkeeragh: MR. ROBERT MONTEITH, of Tullycar; and MR. C. ROLSTON, near Castlefin.

At six o’clock in the evening, upwards of fifty persons, members and friends of the society, sat down to an excellent dinner in MR. EDWARD HEMPHILL’s of Castlederg, which was served in MRS. HEMPHILL‘s usual good style.


JAMES ANDERSON, ESQ., J.P., Lisnacloon, occupied the chair, and THOMAS SPROULE, ESQ., of Altimullan, the vice-chair, &c, &c..........................

Return To The County Tyrone Home Page